Grand Magus join this week’s Barnett’s Brutal Brunch radio show


Forged below the blackened skies of Stockholm, Sweden joining me on this week’s show is frontman JB from Heavy metal band Grand Magus.


With countless fist pumping anthems to come out of the Grand Magus camp in the last sixteen years, in a time when heavy metal was deemed unfashionable, the Swedes have not only been flying the flag, but also paved the way for a new breed in the genre.

With breakthrough album “Hammer of the North”, and the follow up “The Hunt” gaining them further chart success, Grand magus have continued to soar up the ranks. Their most successful album to date “Triumph and Power” became a global success amongst heavy metal fans and critics alike.

As the metal masses wait with much anticipation, May 13th has been announced as the   release date for their eighth studio album “Sword songs”  via Nuclear Blast records.

Frontman JB commented:
“We put all of our sweat, blood and tears into this new album and I think that you can hear that. For me, “Sword Songs” is the best GRAND MAGUS album ever! The new songs are faster and more aggressive than on “Triumph And Power” – and we have also included some more extreme and harder stuff. I’m convinced that there are some future classics on the disc!”

grandmagus-swordsongsSword Songs
The tracklists are as follows:
01. Freja’s Choice
02. Varangian
03. Forged In Iron – Crowned In Steel
04. Born For Battle (Black Dog Of Brocéliande)
05. Master Of The Land
06. Last One To Fall
07. Frost And Fire
08. Hugr
09. Everyday There’s A Battle To Fight
Bonus Tracks (digipak only)
10. In For The Kill
11. Stormbringer (Deep Purple Cover)


Witchcraft drop in on this week’s Barnett’s Brutal Brunch show


This week I am joined by founding member and mastermind behind the wondrous Psychedelia of Witchcraft; Magnus Pelander. The peerless band truly stand alone as a poignant part of Swedish rock music.


With numerous stories surrounding their formation, the band pay homage to seminal bands such as Pentagram and Roky Erickson. Debuting with the track “No Angel or Demon”. 61x-mkxiblThe guys were soon picked up by Lee Dorian of Rise Above Records, with a three album deal with the label, which saw the band etch their sound into the 21st century rock scene.

However, it wasn’t until the release of their fourth album “Legend” through new label Nuclear Blast, that Witchcraft finally received critical acclaim for their unique sound. Now back with their second release on the label the new album ‘Nucleus’ see the band step back to their roots with undertones of their debut album and a side helping of pure Doom!
Tune in this week as I chat with Magnus about the new release ‘Nucleus’. Plus we discuss the past, present and what the future holds for Witchcraft.

Witchcraft - Nucleus

Track list
1 – Malstroem
2 – Theory Of Consequence
3 – The Outcast
4 – Nucleus
5 – An Exorcism Of Doubts
6 – The Obsessed
7 – To Transcend Bitterness
8 – Helpless
9 – Breakdown




Graveyard interview on this week’s Barnett’s brutal brunch show – Podcast now available

With the much anticipated fourth album on the horizon, this week I chat with Graveyard frontman Joakim Nilsson about their latest release ‘Innocence and decadence’ and find out more about the return of former guitarist Truls Mörck.

Listen here

From a disbanded motley crue of musicians named Norrsken, came the birth of two hard rock bands from Gothenburg, Sweden, Witchcraft and this week’s guests on the show, Graveyard.

In their short existence, Graveyard have managed to achieve a significant stamp on the music scene featuring in the ever famous Rolling stone magazine after their first appearance in North America at Southwest Music Festival. Although many would believe that this kind of exposure would see them catapult to success overnight, the Graveyard guys gained their success through grueling touring schedules across the world. These commitments would see their  produce the critically acclaimed second album Hisingen blues released on their new label Nuclear Blast in 2011.

This album alone would elevate Graveyard into a whole new class of touring, supporting grunge heavy weights Soundgarden on a world tour and also the next generation festival headliner, Clutch.

Graveyard hit the ground running and came back a year after with ‘Lights Out’, however, it would resonate the sounds of trouble within the band capturing a different vibe to their previous releases.

When founding member Rikard Edlund leaves the band in 2014, Graveyard didn’t look too far to find his replacement, former member Truls Mörck. Known for his guitar work in the early days of the band’s existence, Truls stepped in to help out on the bass work for the new album and has now become a permanent fixture in the Graveyard line-up.

After several months in the studio and many of the tracks in their final stages, the Graveyard boys decided to take a break and hit the North American shores supporting Mastodon and Clutch on the ‘Missing Link’ tour. With some final touches completed the new album was ready.

Graveyard are back with a fresh outlook and their 2015 release ‘Innocence and decadence’ see below for details;

Side A:
1. Magnetic Shunk
2. The Apple And The Tree
3. Exit 97
4. Never Theirs To Sell
5. Can’t Walk Out
6. Too Much Is Not Enough
Side B:
1. From A Hole In The Wall
2. Cause & Defect
3. Hard-Headed
4. Far Too Close
5. Stay For A Song

Crucified Barbara Interview on this week’s Barnett’s brutal Brunch Podcast

Cultivated from their love of heavy music and the sheer sound of a guitar’s crucified-barbara-20121distortion prompted Klara Force to create a band with Ida Evileye in 1998. With Mia Coldheart on vocals and Nicki Wicked on drums the band set up as Sweden’s hardest rocking quartet Crucified Barbara.  

With the fourth studio album ‘In the Red’ released September 2014, the Stockholm rockers Crucified Barbara are holding no punches and taking no prisoners, this rock ‘n’ roll machine shows no signs of taking it easy.crucified-barbara_in-the-red_large

Now 10 years on since their debut album ‘In Distortion We Trust’, the girl’s have made top 10 chart hits and accomplished worldwide success.

Alongside the above, Crucified Barbara’s relentless touring has seen them play everywhere from Australia, toured across Europe opening for Motörhead, Sepultura and Doro, but also see them play the U.K. Download Festival alongside Black Sabbath, Velvet Revolver, and System Of A Down. 

But not only have they played throughout the world, Crucified Barbara have also performed and made it to the semi-finals on the infamous national television programme “Eurovision’s 2010” a Song contest held, primarily, among the member countries of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) since 1956.

With the release of their third single ‘Lunatic #1’ taken from the new album ‘In the Red’ last month, I catch up with Klara and Mia out on the road in North America supporting Girlschool at Slim’s venue in San Francisco to chat about the fans, the new album and what’s next for the female rockers.

Listen here