Horisont join this week’s BBB Show


With haunting 70’s sounds harking back to the time when rock n roll ruled the world, Horisont immerses the listener into a timewarp. High on a plane of Deep Purple drumming, the momentary sound of the classic twin guitar harmonies could lead you to believe this is some obscure cut from Thin Lizzy back catalogue. But oh no, these swedish boys called Horisont know their heritage and craft their knowledge wisely. Now 10 years in the game they have tapped into a world where NWOBHM and the Scandinavian retro-rock revival still runs wild. Live-evil and Muskelrock festivals shed light on the denim clad nation that is rising up from the underground.

Finally appearing on my radar late 2015 with the album ‘Odyssey’, their second album ‘Time Warriors’ (2013)  has been on heavy rotation this past year.

With their recent departure from Rise Above Records the new signing to Century Media records sees the Swedish quartet release the new album ‘About Time’ February 3rd 2017. Scheduled for more tours and another appearance in the US due April/May 2017   it looks like there is no stopping Horisont.
Out on their first tour on US shores, I  catch up with the boys at the sold out Starline Social Club in Oakland, California. Tune in to hear us chat about Horisont’s first time to the states, plus news on their new album ‘About Time’ and upcoming tour dates.

8th February ’17 – the Barnett’s brutal brunch show  will be live 12pm PST -8pm GMT -9pm CET only on http://www.totalrock.com

“About Time”

Track list:
01. The Hive
02. Electrical
03. Without Warning
04. Letare
05. Night Line
06. Point of Return
07. Boston Gold
08. Hungry Love
09. Dark Sides
10. About Time

Release date: February 3rd, 2017.
Formats: CD/LP/Digital
Label: Century Media Records

The new album ‘About Time’ is out now via the following outlets;

Lilac vinyl – Bengans
Clear vinyl – CMDistro
Silver vinyl – Green Hell
Transparent Green vinyl – Nuclear Blast
Yellow vinyl – CMDistro US


Michael Schenker drops in on this week’s Barnett’s Brutal Brunch show


Carving his rock royalty status in the early years of his career, Michael Schenker‘s very unique guitar playing and sound in bands UFO and the Scorpions would catapult him into one of the greatest guitarists of all time. This week on the show I have the legend Michael Schenker joining me to chat about his years in rock and his latest musical project, Temple of Rock.

As many of us musically minded enthusiasts know, guitar players like Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton and Jimmy Page forged a style of playing taking the guitar sound to new heights, from distortion to the use of the Wah wah pedal and developments in amps and cabs from Jim Marshall. With that being said, it wasn’t long before Michael Schenker would find his own way of doing things, with influences taking from titans Deep Purple and Black Sabbath, Schenker soon developed his own guitar sound and found his own style of playing. Responsible for UFO classic hits like “Natural Thing,” “Doctor Doctor,” “Lights Out,” and “Rock Bottom,” and his work with his brothers band Scorpions. UFO SchenkerMichael stood out as a unique player. With his solo work of the late seventies, early eighties in Michael Schenker group. He has remained a key figure in rock, hitting numerous top guitarist polls throughout his career.

Now back with a new project Michael Schenker Temple of Rock, he has teamed up with Love drive ex-Scorpions members Herman Rarebell on drums, Francis Buchholz on bass and belting out the vocals, Doogie White (ex-Rainbow, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, WAMI) a combination that is creating some much needed magic into the ever growing classic rock scene.

With two albums to date and a live album in-between, the guys are back with a brand new album Spirit on a Mission. With diamond hits “Live And Let Live: and “Something of the Night” it’s clear to see that Temple of Rock as a band, are producing some edgy, yet modern classic rock.

“Spirit On A Mission” track listing:

01. Live And Let Live
02. Communion*
03. Vigilante Man
04. Rock City
05. Saviour Machine*
06. Something Of The Night
07. All Our Yesterdays
08. Bulletproof*
09. Let The Devil Scream*
10. Good Times
11. Restless Heart
12. Wicked*
13. Searching For Freedom (instrumental) (bonus track on deluxe edition + vinyl edition)

Tune in to this week’s show as I chat with Michael about his influences, his guitar sound and the future of Temple Of Rock. Wednesday 7th October 8pm GMT only on Totalrock.com.
Be sure to check out the Temple of Rock boys as they embark on a UK tour with Judas Priest before heading out on their own tour in early 2016. Full dates and ticket links are listed below.

JAN 20 2016 Robin 2 Bilston ENG
JAN 21 2016 Holmfirth Picturedome Holmfirth ENG
JAN 22 2016 Queens Hall Edinburgh SCO
JAN 23 2016 The Ironworks Inverness SCO
JAN 25 2016 The Sage Gateshead ENG
JAN 26 2016 02 Academy Liverpool ENG
JAN 28 2016 Academy 2 Manchester ENG
JAN 29 2016 Rock City Nottingham ENG
JAN 30 2016 Islington Assembly Hall London ENG
JAN 31 2016 Giants Of Rock Minehead ENG